Zigbee Plugin and Device Setup

Initial Setup

Once your drivers are setup and your PC recognizes the Zigbee interface and Zigbee is installed, it is time to configure the plugin.

  1. Navigate to Plugins > Zigbee > Setup Network. You will see a setup guide broken into steps, click Next
  2. Select the Zigbee interface model you are using, HS4 is compatible with two. We recommend the Nortek HUSBZB-1.
  3. Click Next, then select the COM port being used by this interface. This should have been noted while setting up the driver for your interface. Click Finish. (If you are not sure what COM port to select, try both. Only one COM port will allow you to finish)

You will then be brought to the Add New Device page so that you can start including devices right away.

Adding Devices

Click the Start button in step one to put your Zigbee interface into inclusion mode, you will have 60 seconds to add devices and more than one can be added in this period. If you need to add devices in the future, you can return to this page from Plugins > Zigbee > Add New Device.

Manage Devices

Once initial setup is complete and devices are added, you can see a list of your added hardware from Plugins > Zigbee > Manage Devices. Here, you will see two options for your devices:

  • Re-import - Should your device somehow get removed or deleted from your device list, this button will bring it back without the need for removing and re-adding it.
  • Delete - Clicking this will delete your Zigbee device from your network and device list. Unlike Z-Wave, this does not require you to physically activate the device to confirm removal. This process clears network data from the device being removed so that it is free to be joined to the same or another network again. 

Manage Network

Here you will find three options to manage your Zigbee network:

  • Restart Network - If you are experiencing issues with your Zigbee devices not responding quickly or at all, this button will give the network a restart and should clear things up.
  • Reset Network - This clears all of the Zigbee devices from your network, while leaving the Zigbee interface you've configured in place so that you can easily go back and start re-adding devices.
  • Delete Network - This will clear out the network on your interface as well as the interface you've set up.

Settings

The settings on this page all pertain to log entries, and should only be adjusted if instructed by technical support to do so. 

  • Log Level - Trace - Messages typically used for marking where the plugin process is in code. The least severe and most verbose log type.
                        Debug - Messages used for debugging the plugin process. 
                        Info - Informational messages about the plugin process that require no attention.
                        Warning - Messages indicating that there may be a non-critical issue interfering with the normal operation of the plugin that the user might want to address.
                        Error - Critical messages about issues that require user attention and may be interfering with normal operation. The most severe log type.
  • ZigbeeNet Logging Enabled - Enabled by default, disabling this will prevent entries related to Zigbee from appearing in your logs.
  • Log To File - If you are experiencing an issue with your setup, it may be necessary for you to send log entries to support for further review. Enabling this will save Zigbee log entries to a separate file so you may easily share it.
  • File Log Level - Determines which level of file will be saved if Log To File is enabled. See above for an explanation of the different levels.

Still need help? Try Searching or Contact Us Contact Us