Cameras Setup

Overview

Use these settings to configure your security cameras for use with HS4 and MyHS. To access these settings, click Setup, then Cameras.

Camera Recording

  • Save Recordings Locally: check this box to save recordings to your local system (in the Captures folder).
  • Upload Recordings to MyHS: check this box to enable uploading of recordings to your MyHS cloud account.

Auto Detected Cameras

  • Auto Discover Known Camera Types: checked by default. Uncheck if you would like to configure cameras manually.
  • Max Frame Rate (streaming): sets the maximum streaming rate. Default is 10 frames per second.
  • Horizonal Max Res (streaming): sets the maximum horizontal resolution for streaming. Lower resolutions stream faster. Default is 320.
  • Vertical Max Res (streaming): sets the maximum vertical resolution for streaming. Lower resolutions stream faster. Default is 240.
  • Cloud Access: unchecked by default. Check this box to allow recordings from this camera to upload and be viewable with MyHS.
  • Username: enter the security username for this camera.
  • Password: enter the security password for this camera.

Manually Added Cameras

Use the settings in this section to add cameras that are not auto-detected by HS4. You will likely need to check the manual or manufacturer's website to obtain this information. Online camera databases are sometimes helpful too: https://www.ispyconnect.com/sources.aspx

  • Add Camera (Name): enter the name of your camera and click the + button.
  • Cloud Access: unchecked by default. Check this box to allow recordings from this camera to upload and be viewable with MyHS.
  • Snapshot: enter the snapshot URL for your camera. HS4 will use this to display the live view of the camera.
  • Stream: enter the rtsp or mjpeg stream URL for your camera. HS4 will use this to record videos.
  • Pan controls: if your camera supports pan and tilt operation, enter the pan commands in these fields.

Save Your Work!

Be sure to click the SAVE button at the bottom of the page after you're finished editing.